Second Joint Preparatory Retreat of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives 9 to 10 June 2017 Hotel Villa Caletas (Pacifico Central) Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Note by the Secretariat on

Chairs of Committee of the Whole

The Secretariat is pleased to present the list of Chairs and Rapporteurs of the Committee of the Whole from the Governing Council 21 to the previous session of the UN Environment Assembly, in support of discussions at the Second Joint Preparatory Retreat of the bureau of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives, to be held on 9 to 10 June 2017.

As annexes to the list, the Secretariat has included the following tables indicating regional rotations for both bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives:

- Composition of the Bureau of the UN Environment Assembly; and
- Composition of the Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

Second Joint Preparatory Retreat of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives 9 to 10 June 2017 Hotel Villa Caletas (Pacifico Central) Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Chairs and Rapporteurs of Committee of the whole

UNEA 2: 23-27 May 2016

Ms. Idunn Eidheim (Norway) – Chair

Mr. Mohammed Husham Malik Al-Fityan (Iraq) - Rapporteur

UNEA 1: 23-27 June 2014

Mr. Fernando Lugris (Uruguay) – Chair Mr. Mahmoud Samy (Egypt) - Rapporteur.

GC27: 18-22 February 2013

Ms. Idunn Eidheim (Norway) - Chair.

Ms. Nthabiseng Malefane (South Africa) - Rapporteur.

GC26: 21-24 February 2011

Ms. Liana Bratasida (Indonesia) - Chair Mr. István Teplán (Hungary) - Rapporteur.

GC25: 16-20 February 2009

Mr. Jukka Uosukainen (Finland) - Chair

Mr. Juan Carlos Cué Vega (Mexico) - Rapporteur

GC24: 5-9 February 2007

Mr. Jan Dusík (Czech Republic) - Chair Ms. Fatima Dia Toure (Senegal) - Rapporteur.

GC23: 21-25 February 2005

Mr. Beat Nobs (Switzerland) - Chair

Mr. Carlos Gamba (Colombia) - Rapporteur

GC22: 3-7 February 2003

Ms. Tanya van Gool, Vice-President of the Council,- Chair Mr. Francis Kihumba (Kenya) – Rapporteur.

GC21: 5-9 February 2001

Mr. Janusz Radziejowski (Poland), Vice-President of the Council – Chair

No Rapporteur

Mr. Tupuk Sutrisno (Indonesia), Vice-President of the Council, should assist the President in the performance of his functions, particularly by presiding over plenary meetings on his behalf. It was also decided to establish a drafting group to be chaired by Ms. Rosa Elena Simeón Negrín (Cuba), Vice-President of the Council.

Composition of the Bureau of the UN Environment Assembly

Year	2001-03	2003-05	2005-07	2007-09	2009-11	2011-13	2013-14	2014-16	2016-18	TBD	TBD
Meetings	GC21 GCSS-7	GC22 GCSS-8	GC23 GCSS-9	GC24 GCSS-10	GC25 GCSS-11	GC26 GCSS-12	GC27	UNEA-1	UNEA-2	UNEA-3	UNEA-4
President	WEO Canada	African Uganda United Republic of Tanzania	AP Indonesia	LAC Costa Rica	EE Serbia	WEO Spain	African Sudan	AP Mongolia	LAC Costa Rica	EE	WEO
Vice Presidents	AP Indonesia	AP Republic of Korea	African Burkina Faso	African South Africa	African Algeria Republic of Congo	AP Indonesia	AP Japan	African (2) Egypt, Kenya	African (2) Gabon, Nigeria	African (2)	African
	EE Poland	LAC Colombia	EE Romania	AP Pakistan	LAC Mexico	EE Hungary Romania	LAC Peru	AP Iraq	AP (2) Iraq, Philippine	AP	AP (2)
								EE (2) Romania, Georgia	EE (2) Czech Rep. Montenegro	EE	EE (2)
	LAC Cuba	WEO Netherlands	WEO Switzerland	EE Czech Republic	WEO USA	LAC Uruguay	WEO Norway	LAC Peru	LAC Barbados	LAC (2)	LAC (2)
								WEO (2) Belgium, Norway	WEO USA	WEO (2)	WEO
Rapporteur	African Uganda	EE Czech Republic	LAC Bahamas	WEO Austria	AP Indonesia	African Mozambiqu e	EE Poland	LAC Saint Lucia	WEO Belgium	AP	African

AP: Asia-Pacific States

EE: Eastern European States

LAC: Latin American and Caribbean States

WEO Western European and other States

GC: Governing Council

GCSS: Special Session of Governing Council UNEA: United Nations Environment Assembly

UNEP SGBS | 4 May 2017

Composition of the Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Representatives to UN Environment

Year	2001-03	2003-05	2005-07	2007-09	2009-11	2011-13	2013-15	2015-17	2017-19	2019-21
Chair	WEO	AP	EE	African	LAC	WEO	AP	EE	African Botswana	LAC
	Sweden Germany	Pakistan Sri Lanka Republic of Korea	Romania Slovakia	Uganda	Argentina Mexico	Denmark	Republic of Korea Indonesia	Romania		
Vice Chairs	African DR Congo	African Kenya	African Zambia	AP Malaysia Bangladesh	AP Bangladesh Japan	African Ghana	African Uganda	African Botswana	AP Pakistan	AP
	EE Yugoslavia Russian Federation	EE Hungary Czech Republic	AP Iran	LAC Brazil	EE Czech Republic Russian Federation	EE Poland Russian Federation	EE Romania	AP Iraq	LAC Colombia	EE
	LAC Brazil	WEO France Belgium	LAC Brazil	WEO Switzerland	WEO Germany	LAC Mexico	WEO Belgium	LAC Brazil	WEO Finland	WEO
Rapporteur	AP India	LAC Mexico	WEO Canada	EE Hungary	African Morocco	AP Iran	LAC Chile	WEO Finland	EE	African
	Pakistan		Netherlands	Poland						

AP: Asia-Pacific States

GC: Governing Council GCSS: Special Session of Governing Council UNEA: United Nations Environment Assembly Eastern European States Latin American and Caribbean States EE: LAC: