Regional Synthesis Report on the Status of Pollution in the Western Indian Ocean Region

United Nations Environment Programme ; United Nations Environment Programme Institutional authors (2009-06-18)

In an endeavour to address the problems in coastal and marine environments, Governments of the Eastern African region - Somalia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and France (Reunion) - came together under the framework of United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP) Regional Seas Programme in 1985 and endorsed the Convention for the Protection, Management and Development of the Marine and Coastal Environment of the Eastern Africa region (also called the Nairobi Convention) and related Protocols. The Convention is broadly aimed at maintaining essential ecological processes and life support systems, preserving genetic diversity, and ensuring sustainable utilization of harvested natural resources. Today all ten Eastern and Southern African countries have ratified the Convention: Comoros, France (La Reunion), Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa and Tanzania.

Assessment report