Report on 32nd Ozone Day Celebration in Nepal

AWARENESS ACTIVITIES

Background:

The united nation and 45 other countries signed the Montreal protocol on substances that deplete the ozone layer with the purpose of protection of Ozone layer on September 16, 1987. And hence 16 September each year is marked as international ozone day for the preservation of the ozone layer. The theme of the 32nd Ozone day is: "32 years and healing".

Nepal Bureau of Standard and Meteorology (NBSM), National ozone Unit celebrates 32nd international ozone day through different program to create an awareness. The scheduled program to mark this important day were:

- 1. Speech competition and drawing competition at the school level.
- 2. Rally around the major area of a city.
- 3. Interview of Director General of NBSM in a media.

Among the program, Speech competition and drawing competition was scheduled for the lower secondary and secondary level students with the major objective to raise awareness of the importance of the ozone layer to protect future generation. The speech competition and drawing competition was organized on 15th September, 2019 in Jana Prabhat Madhyamik Vidyalaya, kalimati, Kathmandu. Seema Baniya, Representative from National Ozone unit, Satyendra lal Karna, principle of Jana Prabhat Madhyamik Vidhyalaya, teachers and students of Jana Prabhat Madhyamik Vidhyalaya attended the program.

A good number of student participated in the program. There were eighty two (82) participants for the drawing competition from lower secondary and secondary level. Likewise twenty six (26) participants spoke in the speech competition under the topic "Our Responsibility on Ozone layer protection". The list of participants are given in Annex 1. The competition was judged by their teachers. The best among the participants were ranked 1st, 2nd 3rd and 4th. The winners were awarded with a cash prize. 4th position or a consolation prize of Rs. 1000 was awarded to 3 participants of both Drawing and speech competition each. 3rd prize was of Rs. 1500. Rs. 2000 was awarded to 2nd position holder and the 1st position holder receive the cash prize of Rs. 3000 in each competition. The winners were awarded in presence of their guardians. The list of winners are:

Name of competition	Name of winners	Position hold	Cash award
			received
Drawing competition	Aashish Newa Khadgi	First	Rs. 3000
	Nandani Sharma	Second	Rs. 2000
	Biky Raut	Third	Rs. 1500
	Gaurav Magar	Consolation	Rs. 1000
	Sunny Napit	Consolation	Rs. 1000
	Sneha Jaiswal	Consolation	Rs. 1000
Speech competition	Sudip lama	First	Rs. 3000
	Niruta Baima Magar	Second	Rs. 2000
	Rojina Dahal	Third	Rs. 1500
	Sabita Jaiswal	Consolation	Rs. 1000

Bijaya Dhamala	Consolation	Rs. 1000
Dip Ranjan Sharma	Consolation	Rs. 1000

Rally was organized in the early morning of September 16, 2019. A huge number of people participated in the program. Good number of representative from NBSM, Nepal Refrigeration and Electromechanical Association and Ministry of Forest and Environment actively took part in the rally. The major attraction was a cultural musical group who led the rally. About 100 students from Jana Praphat Madhyamik Vidya actively participated in the rally along with the banner that has 32nd world's ozone day slogan"32 years and healing" written in it. The mass gathered in Basantapur and the rally begins from Basantapur along the route Basantapur-Newroad-Ratnapark- Kantipath- Tridevi Marg- Thamel- Thaiti- Pyafal- Basantapur. The rally with the good number of participants, Dhime (Newari) cultural musical group, energetic students and representative of different office and organization along with banners really seems effective to attract and aware the public about the Ozone day and Ozone layer protection.

Director General of NBSM, Mr. Bishwo Babu Pudasaini was interviewed by the Sagarmatha FM hosted by Environmental Journalist on the Subject matter of Worlds Ozone Day at 16 Sep, 2019. The interview focus about introduction of Ozone layer, the Montreal Protocol and various activities conducted by national Ozone Unit.

Some glimpse of Ozone Day Activities



Participants of drawing competition









Participants and audience of speech competition.



Display of best drawing among the students



Result Announcement and winner receiving tika from their principle and representative of NOU.



Winners after receiving cash prize along with their guardians and teachers.



Group picture of all winners of drawing and speech competition.



Rally participation.

Annex 1:
Participants for Speech competition. (Class 8-10)

1. Aarati Kumari Saha	14. Devendra Magar		
2. Ranjana Shrestha	15. Bhim Bahadur Rana Magar		
3. Srijana Thapa	16. Bijaya Dhamala		
4. Samikshya Poudel	17. Rojina Dahal		
5. Niruta Baima Magar	18. Anita Adhikari		
6. Bimala Gole	19. Sabitri Dhakal		
7. Dip Ranjan Sharma	20. Sudip lama		
8. Sudip Chaulagai	21. Anita Thapa		
9. Subash Tamang	22. Aman Tamang		
10. Biva Kumari Lama	23. Rachana Khatiwada		
11. Bikram Thagunna	24. Aarati Joshi		
12. Purnima Tamang	25. Ranjani Sharma		
13. Sabita Jaiswal	26. Gaurab Bhatta		

Participants for Drawing Competition (Class 6-10)

1 A 1'1 NT TZ1 1'	20 P 1 M	56 D 1: G : 1
1. Aashish Newa Khadgi	29. Reshma Magar	56. Rabina Sajuwal
2. Amrit Adhikari	30. Nabaraj Tamang	57. Sunil Chaulagai
3. Sunil Lama	31. Prabin Shrestha	58. Nosad Ansari
4. Anmol Tuladhar	32. Ranjan Sundas	59. Ramesh Bhatta
5. Sunaina Tamang	33. Bikram Nepali	60. Sunny Napit
6. Kabita B.K	34. Nandani Sharma	61. Saroj Rai
7. Bimala Basnet	35. Ashok Saha	62. Nishal Chaudhary
8. Mandira Shrestha	36. Sunita Chaulagai	63. Nishal Tamang
9. Priyanka Jaiswal	37. Amir Rai	64. Shiring low
10. Prabin Tamang	38. Menuka Sunar	65. Rubina Ghalan
11. Gaurav Magar	39. Purnima Shrestha	66. Anjila Ruchal
12. Biky Raut	40. Himesh Sankar	67. Sarita Maharjan
13. Ram Bahadur Thapa	41. Rahul Tharu	68. Sushma Tamang
14. Dip Tamang	42. Rukshana Khatun	69. Salina Ale
15. John Thapa	43. Bishnu lama	70. Abisha Bhujel
16. Khadak Bahadur Khaptadi	44. Ranjana Jaiswal	71. Lushwa Amatya
17. Saroj Shrestha	45. Anjal Rauniyar	72. Isha B.K
18. Som Khatri	46. Bini Limbhu	73. Sushanta Nagarkoti
19. Abishek Belbase	47. Sugam Shrestha	74. Nabaraj Karki
20. Rajan Tamang	48. Ganesh Dhanuki	75. Mahesh Bhujel
21. Pratikshya Thapa	49. Bishal Sunar	76. Ranjita Dhanuki

22. Abita Shrestha	50. Sailesh Tamang	77. Rajan Nepali
23. Pushpa karki	51. Uddhab Pradhan	78. Rupesh Nepali
24. Reshma Gautam	52. Sneha Jaiswal	79. Nabina Ghale
25. Sajina Baral	53. Ashmita Adhikari	80. Arjun Malla
26. Sandhya Saha	54. Apsara Shrestha	81. Ram Prasad Rana
27. Nishal Bogati	55. Sunita Thapa	81. Sujan Rai
28. Samir Rai		