Summary of the Joint meeting of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives to the United Nations Environment Programme

17 February 2021

On 17 February 2021, Members of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and of the Committee of Permanent Representatives to the UN Environment Programme held a virtual meeting. The meeting was co-chaired by H.E. Mr. Sveinung Rotevatn, President of the UN Environment Assembly and Minister of Environment and Climate of the Norway, and H.E. Mr. Fernando Coimbra, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Brazil. A list of participants is available as an annex to this summary. Agenda and meeting documentation is made available online through the meeting portal.

The Joint Bureaux meeting addressed the following topics:

- Report from the 5th Open-Ended meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives;
- Possible consensual message or statement from the online session of UNEA;
- Preparations for the online session of UNEA.

This document summarizes the points of discussion during the joint Bureaux meeting.

Agenda Item 2: Report from the fifth Open-Ended meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

- 1. The Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives (CPR) informed the Bureaux that the recently concluded fifth Open-Ended meeting of the CPR, reached consensus and recommended the adoption of the following administrative and budgetary decisions at the online meeting of the fifth session of the UN Environment Assembly:
 - Management of trust funds and earmarked contributions;
 - Medium Term Strategy for 2022-2025 and Programme of Work for the biennium 2022-23:
 - Adjournment and resumption of the fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly

Agenda Item 3: Possible consensual message or statement from the online session of UNEA

- 2. The President of the Assembly, briefed the meeting on his process of consultation, thanking member States and Stakeholders for their inputs and guidance, noting that he will present the message for possible endorsement during the online meeting of UNEA-5.
- 3. Members of the Bureaux and Chairs of the Regional groups, noted the President's leadership and efforts put forth by him and his team to strike a balance amongst the many different voices and priorities in the proposed message.

Agenda Item 4: Preparation for the online session of UNEA

4. The Executive Director provided an update on the level of participation for the leadership dialogues and gave an overview of the online events organized in conjunction with the online meeting of the fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly.

Agenda Item 5: Other matters

5. No other matters were considered.

Agenda Item 6: Closing of the meeting

6. The President of the Assembly and the Chair of the CPR thanked all Members of the two Bureaux for their inputs and guidance to the discussion. The meeting closed at 19:47

List of participants Joint meeting of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and the Committee of Permanent Representatives to the United Nations Environment Programme, 17 February 2021

	UN Environment Assembly Bureau	
COUNTRY	NAME	
REGIONAL GROUP	DESIGNATION	
Norway	H.E. Mr. Sveinung Rotevatn	
Western European and Others	President, Minister of Climate and Environment	
Group	,	
Costa Rica	Ms. Ana Elena Campos	
Latin America and Caribbean	representing H.E. Ms. Andrea Murillo, Vice President and Minister of	
Group	Environment and Energy of the Republic	
Estonia	Mr. Ado Lohmus	
Eastern European Group	Vice President and Permanent Representative of Environment	
Indonesia	Ms. Laksmi Dhewanthi	
Asia-Pacific Group	Vice President and Senior Advisor to the Minister of Environment and	
Asia-Pacific Group		
G 1.	Forestry	
Serbia	H.E Dragan Zupanjevac	
Eastern European and Group	Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Serbia representing H.E.	
	Mrs. Irena Vujovic, Minister of Environment Protection	
Suriname	H.E. Mr. Reggy Nelson	
Latin America and Caribbean	Vice President and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary	
Group		
France	H.E. Mrs. Aline Kuster-Ménager	
Western European and Others	Ambassador and Permanent Representative representing H.E. Ms.	
Group	Bérangère Abba , Vice President, Secretary of State for the	
	Biodiversity	
Burkina Faso	Mr. Yago L. Abdoul Kader	
Africa Group	representing H.E. Mr. Bassiere Batio Nestor , Vice President of	
1	UNEA and Minister of Green Economy and Climate Change	
Bahrain	H.E. Dr. Mohammed Bin Dainah	
Asia-Pacific Group	Vice President and Chief Executive of the Supreme Council for	
risia racinio ersup	Environment of Bahrain	
South Africa	Ms. Lucia Motloung	
Africa Group	representing Hon. Ms. Barbara Creecy, Rappourteur, Minister of	
7 Hilea Group	Environment, Forestry and Fisheries	
Com		
Brazil Committee of Permanent Representatives Bureau H.E. Mr. Fernando Coimbra		
Latin America and Caribbean	Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative	
Group	Chair, Amoassador and remainent Representative	
Netherlands	Ms. Gudi Alkemade	
Western European and Others	Representing H.E. Mr. Maarten Brouwer	
Group	Vice Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative	
Pakistan	H.E. Ms. Saqlain Syedah	
Asia-Pacific Group	Vice Chair, High Commissioner and Permanent Representative	
Poland	H.E. Mr. Marek Garztecki	
Eastern European and Group	Vice Chair of CPR, Ambassador and Permanent Representative	
Chairs of Regional and Political Groups		
Africa Group	H.E. Mr. Beyene Russom	
	Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Eritrea	
Eastern European Group	H.E. Mr. Martin Klepetko	
	Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Czech Republic	
Western European and	Mr. Asif Choudhury	
Others Group	Deputy Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom of Great	
_	Britain and Northern Ireland	
Nairobi Based Representatives		
Norway	H.E. Ms. Elin Rognlie	
- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Ambassador and Permanent Representative;	
	1 Into a soud of the formation in the proposition (c)	

Annex

AIIIICA	
	Ms. Guri Sandborg
	Deputy Permanent Representative
France	Ms. Estelle Halimi
	Deputy Permanent Representative
Brazil	Mr. Patrick Luna
	Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative
South Africa	Ms. Amanda Mkhwanazi
	Deputy Permanent Representative
	UN Environment Programme
	Ms. Inger Andersen
	Executive Director
	Ms. Joyce Msuya
	Deputy Executive Director
	Mr. Jorge Laguna-Celis
	Secretary of Governing Bodies and Director – Governance Affairs
	Office
	Mr. Rafael Peralta
	Chief of Staff
	Mr. Ulf Bjornholm
	Deputy Secretary of Governing Bodies and Deputy Director –
	Governance Affairs Office
	Mr. Stadler Trengove
	Legal Officer