Joint meeting of the Bureaux of UN Environment Assembly and Committee of Permanent Representatives Sunday, 27 February 2022 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Hybrid

Draft Summary of the Joint Meeting of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

Meeting documents can be accessed on the meeting portal

Agenda Item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda.

- 1. H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, President of the UN Environment Assembly and Minister of Climate and the Environment of Norway and H.E. Mrs. Luisa Fragoso, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Portugal, opened the joint meeting, and invited UNEP's Executive Director, Ms. Inger Andersen, to deliver her opening remarks, in which she thanked the Bureau members for their leadership and reassured of the continued support from the Secretariat. A list of meeting participants can be found in the Annex.
- 2. The meeting agenda was adopted.

Agenda Item 2: Update on draft resolutions and decisions, and organization of the Committee of the Whole.

- 3. H.E. Ms. Luisa Fragoso, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, provided an update on the outcome of the fifth Open-Ended Meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives held on 21-25 February 2022 and progress made in the informal consultations on draft resolutions for UNEA 5.2, announcing the successful finalization of two draft resolutions and one decision agreed to be submitted to the Assembly for adoption, as well as the continuation of informal consultations on the remaining drafts with the aim to find broad agreements on their content.
- 4. The Chair acknowledged the dedication and leadership of H.E. Mr Erasmo Martínez, Vice Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, who has been instrumental in guiding the consultations. Ambassador Martinez provided an overview on progress in the different clusters.
- 5. H.E. Ms. Saqlain Syedah, Rapporteur of the Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Representatives and High Commissioner and Permanent Representative of Pakistan, and Mr. Ado Lohmus, Vice Chair of the Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Representatives and Permanent Representative of Estonia, provided an update on the informal process undertaken with the view to reach consensus on the ministerial declaration for the special session on UNEP@50.

- 6. The meeting then considered the organization of the Committee of the Whole of the resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly, and decided to recommend that it consider agenda item 5, international environmental policy and governance issues, item 9, commemoration of the creation of the United Nations Environment Programme by the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment held in Stockholm from 5 to 16 June 1972, and item 10, provisional agenda and dates of the sixth session of the Environment Assembly.
- 7. The Joint Bureaux extended its appreciation to H.E. Ms. Andrea Meza Murillo (Costa Rica) and H.E. Ms. Ambassador Selma Haddadi (Algeria) for accepting their nominations to serve as Chair and Rapporteur and the Committee of the Whole, respectively.
- 8. The secretariat informed the Bureau about a communication from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Business and International Cooperation of Suriname, informing that Suriname has nominated H.E. Mr. Silvano Tjong- Ahin, Minister of Spatial Planning and Environment of Suriname, to replace H.E. Mr. Reggy Nelson, the Vice-President of United Nations Environment Assembly and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Suriname, for the remainder of his term. In accordance with rule 19 (1) of the rules of procedure, the election to replace the current Vice President from Suriname would take place during the UNEA 5.2 plenary meeting on 28 February 2022.

Agenda Item 3: Update on the preparation of a draft ministerial declaration for UNEA-5.

9. The President of the Assembly informed of the successful conclusion of the consultations on the draft ministerial declaration of the United Nations Environment Assembly at its resumed fifth session, and that a final version recommended for possible adoption by the Assembly would be made available in the papersmart portal.

Agenda 4: Meeting credentials for UNEA-5.2.

10. Mr. Stadler Trengove, UNEP Principal Legal Advisor, gave a briefing on the status of credentials submitted to the resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly in accordance with Rules 16 and 17 of the rules of procedure of the United Nations Environment Assembly.

Agenda Item 5: Preparations for the election of the Bureau for UNEA-6.

- 11. The Secretariat informed that the Group of Asia-Pacific States has submitted formal nomination of Dr. Jafar Barmaki, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to UNEP and UN-Habitat of the Islamic Republic of Iran, and H.E. Malik Amin Aslam, Federal Minister of Climate Change of Pakistan and Special Assistant to Prime Minister of Pakistan on Climate Change, as members of the Bureau of the 6th United Nations Environment Assembly. Additionally, the secretariat recalled the nominations by other regional groups, and indicated that a meeting to elect announced that the selection [by a secret ballot] of the the President to be nominated by the Africa Group was scheduled for the morning of 28 February, early morning.
- 12. The Bureau agreed to reach out to the respective regional groups and chairs to confirm the nominations to the UNEA-6 Bureau, and to inform the secretariat accordingly, so that the UNEA Bureau can be elected at the closing session of UNEA-5.

Agenda Item 6: Other matters.

13. No other matters were raised.

Agenda Item 7: Closure of the meeting.

- 14. The President of the Assembly, the Chair of the CPR and the Executive Director provided closing remarks, with words of appreciation to the Bureau members and to the secretariat for their contributions towards a successful resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly.
- 15. The Joint Bureaux meeting was closed at 6.00 pm.

ANNEX -LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Bureau of the UN Environment Assembly

H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, President, Minister of Climate and Environment - Norway

Ms. Laksmi Dhewanthi, Vice President and Senior Advisor to the Minister of Environment and Forestry - Indonesia

H.E. Ms. Aline Kuster Ménager Ambassador and Permanent Representative representing H.E. Ms. Bérangère Abba, Vice President, Secretary of State for Biodiversity - France

Mrs Luma Al Mahroos Act. Director for Environmental Monitoring & Protection Supreme Council for Environment representing H.E. Dr. Mohammed Bin Dainah, Vice President and Chief Executive of the Supreme Council for Environment -Bahrain

Mr. Ado Lõhmus, Permanent Representative representing H.E. Mr.Erki Savisaar, Minister of the Environment - Estonia

Ms. Shakira Parker, Director at the Department of Environmental Affairs representing Hon. Ms. Barbara Creecy, Rapporteur, Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries – South Africa

Bureau of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

H.E. Ms. Luísa Fragoso Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative - Portugal

H.E. Ms. Selma Malika Haddadi Vice Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative - Algeria

H.E. Mr. Erasmo R. Martínez M. Vice Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Mr. Ado Lõhmus Vice Chair, Permanent Representative - Estonia

UNEP

Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director

Ms. Sonja Leighton Kone, Deputy Executive Director a.i

Mr. Rafael Peralta, Chief of Staff

Ms. Radhika Ochalik, Secretary of Governing Bodies

Mr. Ulf Björnholm, Deputy Secretary of Governing Bodies

Mr. Stadler Trengrove, Principal Legal Advisor.