Meeting of the Bureau of UN Environment Assembly 2 March 2022 8.00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Conference Room 11 and GoTo Platform Hybrid Meeting

Draft Summary of the Meeting of the Bureau of the UN Environment Assembly

Meeting documents can be accessed on the meeting portal

Agenda Item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda.

- 1. The President of the fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly, H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, Minister of Climate and the Environment of Norway, opened the final meeting of the UNEA-5 Bureau, expressing his deep appreciation to all fellow Bureau members including to the Chair of the Committee of the Whole, for their hard work and leadership. A list of meeting participants can be found in the Annex.
- 2. After introductory remarks of Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director UN Environment Programme, the agenda was adopted.

Agenda Item 2: "Preparations for resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly"

3. Under this broad agenda item, the Bureau addressed several important sub-items, as follows:

I. Outcome of the Committee of the Whole

- 4. H.E. Minister Andrea Meza, in her capacity as the Chair of the Committee of the Whole, provided an update on the status of negotiations on the draft resolutions and decision. Minister Meza indicated that as a result of the consultations held by the three contacts groups from Monday to Tuesday evening, ten finalized draft resolutions and one decision have been recommended for adoption by the Environment Assembly. Further consideration of one draft resolution should continue on an informal basis with a view to presenting a consensual text for consideration and possible adoption by the Environment Assembly.
- 5. The Secretary informed that the final versions of the draft resolutions as endorsed by the Committee of the Whole are available in the papersmart portal. The President welcomed the outcome and commended Minister Mezza for her excellent work as the Chair of the Committee.

II. Update on the draft ministerial declaration for UNEA-5.

6. The President informed that following several bilateral meetings, a slightly amended final version of the draft Ministerial Declaration had been made available in paper smart portal for adoption by the Assembly.

III. Credentials report for UNEA-5.2.

- 7. Mr. Stadler Trengove, Principal Legal Advisor, presented the draft credentials report. The Bureau of the United Nations Environment Assembly examined the credentials as presented and agreed to submit its report to the Assembly, in accordance with rule 17 of the UNEA Rules of Procedure.
- 8. With regard to Myanmar, the Bureau decided to recommend that the UN Environment Assembly defer any action on their credentials pending further guidance from the Credentials Committee of the UN General Assembly.

IV. Election of the UNEA-6 Bureau

- 9. The Secretariat provided an update of nominations for the Bureau of the 6th session of the United Nations Environment Assembly, as follows:
- 10. H.E. Ms. Leila Benali, Minister of Environment of the Kingdom of Morocco, as President of the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly; and H.E. Mr. Abdou Karim Sall, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development of Senegal, as Vice-President, nominated by the African States Group.H.E. Mr. João Pedro Matos Fernandes, Minister of Environment and Climate Action of Portugal; and the Honourable Lord Zac Goldsmith, Minister of Pacific and the Environment of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, as Vice Presidents of the UNEA-6, nominated by the Western European and Others States Group.
- 11. H.E. Mr. Joaquim Leite, Minister of Environment of the Federal Republic of Brazil; and H.E. Mr. Carlos Eduardo Correa, Minister of Environment of Colombia, as Vice Presidents of the UNEA-6, nominated by the Latin America and Caribbean States Group.
- 12. Dr. Jafar Barmaki, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to UNEP and UN-Habitat of the Islamic Republic of Iran; and H.E. Mr. Malik Amin Aslam, Minister of Climate Change of Pakistan and Special Assistant to Prime Minister of Pakistan on Climate Change, as Vice Presidents of the UNEA-6 nominated by the Asia-Pacific States Group.
- 13. H.E Mr. Jàn Budaj, Minister of Environment of Slovakia, as Vice President of the UNEA-6; and Mr. Oleksandr Krasnolutskyi, Deputy Minister of Environment Protection and Natural Resources of Ukraine as Rapporteur, nominated by the Eastern European States Group.

Agenda Item 3: Other matters.

14. No matters were considered under this agenda item.

Agenda Item 4: Closure of the meeting.

15. In concluding the last UNEA 5 Bureau meeting, the President expressed his deep appreciation to all Members, as well as to the secretariat, for their contributions and

constructive participation during the past months in preparation for the resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment.

16. After closing remarks from the Executive Director, Inger Andersen, the meeting was closed at 8.45 a.m.

ANNEX- List of participants

Bureau of the UN Environment Assembly

- H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, UNEA President, Minister of Environment and Climate Norway;
- H.E. Ms. Bérangère Abba, Secretary of State for the Biodiversity of France
- H.E. Mrs. Irena Vujovic, Minister of Environment Protection of Serbia
- H.E. Ms. Andrea Meza Murillo, Minister of Environment and Energy of Costa Rica
- H.E. Dr. Mohamed bin Mubarak Bin Daina, Special Envoy for Climate Affairs and Chief Executive of the Supreme Council for Environment of Bahrain
- H.E. Mr. Silvano Tjong-Ahin, Minister of Spatial Planning and Environment of Suriname
- Ms. Laksmi Dhewanthi, and Senior Advisor to the Minister of Environment and Forestry of Indonesia
- Hon. Ms. Barbara Creecy, Rapporteur of UNEA and Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries of the Republic of South Africa

Mr. Ado Lohmus, Permanent Representative of Estonia.

CPR Bureau as ex officio

H.E. Ms. Luísa Fragoso, Chair of the CPR, Ambassador of Portugal and Permanent Representative to UNEP

UNEP

- Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director
- Ms. Sonja Leighton Kone, Deputy Executive Director a.i.
- Mr. Rafael Peralta, Chief of Staff
- Ms. Radhika Ochalik, Secretary of Governing Bodies
- Mr. Ulf Björnholm, Deputy Secretary of Governing Bodies
- Mr. Stadler Trengrove, Principal Legal Advisor.