

# Update on the GEO-7 process

Briefing to CPR members

#### Objectives of the presentation

Review most recent outcomes of the GEO-7 process

Presentation of the membership of the IMAG as proposed by the Secretariat



#### Most recent developments

- Request for nominations to IMAG sent out June 17
- Request for nominations to the first two meetings of the GEO process
- Draft procedures document developed in collaboration with Chair of the Steering Committee on the Future of GEO
- Draft procedures document was submitted for 1-month online peer review.
- After 4 detailed review sessions, the procedures document was approved on a preliminary basis on Sept. 22
- Draft scoping document developed with informal help of proposed co-chairs and vice-chairs of GEO-7
- Draft scoping document now undergoing a 1-month online peer review
- Online questionnaire sent to scoping meeting participants requesting examples of policy questions that GEO-7 should try to answer



#### For GEO - people are the secret ingredient





### Geographic and gender balance of the IMAG

Relevant Stakeholder	Nominees	Gender	Nationality	Region
Science and Technology	Mohamed Abdelraouf	Male	Egypt	African Group
Major Group	Dr Fabian Wagner	Male	Germany	WEOG
Women Major group	Ruth Spencer	Female	Antigua and Barbuda	LAC Group
NGO Major groups	Ms. Djatougbe Aziaka	Female	Togo	African Group
	Mr Jan-Gustav Strandenaes	Male	Norway	WEOG
Indigenous peoples	Prem Singh Tharu	Male	Thailand	Asia Pacific Group
Youth	Zahra Abu Taha	Female	Jordan	Asia Pacific Group
Business and Industry	Dominic Kailash Nath Waughray	Male	India	Asia Pacific Group
Local authorities	Ms. Ingrid Coetzee	Female	South Africa	African Group
Faith-based groups	Merylene Chitharai	Female	South Africa	African Group
Totals	Gender:	5 M, 5 F	Geographic:	2 WEOG, 8 non-WEOG

UN Region	Male	Female	Total Countries
Africa Group	3	2	5
West Europe	1	4	5
Eastern Europe	2	2	5
Asia Pacific	2	3	5
LAC	3	2	5
Totals	12	13	25



## Proposed membership of IMAG

						Region(s) of
	Title	First Name	Family Name	Gender	Nationality	Representation
Member State	Mr	Thomas	Chali	Male	Tanzania	African Group
Member State	Dr	Jerome	Lugumira Sebadduka	Male	Uganda	African Group
Member State	Dr	Modibo	Sacko	Male	Mali	African Group
Member State	Dr	Leila	Bendifallah	Female	Algeria	African Group
Member State	Ms.	Anna	Mampye	Female	South Africa	African Group
Stakeholder group	Dr.	Mohamed	Abdelraouf	Male	Egypt	African Group
Stakeholder group		Djatougbe	Aziaka	Female	Togo	African Group
Stakeholder group	Miss	Merylene	Chitharai	Female	South Africa	African Group
Stakeholder group	Ms.	Ingrid	Coetzee	Female	South Africa	African Group



## Proposed members (cont.)

Member State	Prof.	Yi	Huang	Female	China	Asia and the Pacific Group
Member State	Dr	Thuraya	AL Sariri	Female	Oman	Asia and the Pacific Group
Member State	Mrs	Rolenas	Baereleo	Female	Vanuatu	Asia and the Pacific Group
Member State	Mrs	Maha	Maayta	Female	Jordan	Asia and the Pacific Group
Member State	Mr	Takashi	Otsuka	Male	Japan	Asia and the Pacific Group
Stakeholder group	Mr	Prem	Singh Tharu	Male	Thailand	Asia and the Pacific Group
Stakeholder group	Ms	Zahra	Abu Taha	Female	Jordan	Asia and the Pacific Group
			Kailash Nath			
Stakeholder group	Mr	Dominic	Waughray	Male	India	Asia and the Pacific Group



### Proposed membership (cont.)

Member State	Ms	Meri	Harutyunyan	Female	Armenia	Eastern European Group
Member State	Mr	Toghrul	Feyziyev	Male	Azerbaijan	Eastern European Group
Member State	Mr	Miroslav	Havránek	Male	Czechia	Eastern European Group
					Bosnia &	
Member State	Mrs	Dušica	Pešević	Female	Herzegovina	Eastern European Group
Member State	Dr	Marek	Haliniak	Male	Poland	Eastern European Group
Member State	Ms	Gillian	Stanislaus	Female	Trinidad & Tobago	Latin American and Caribbean Group
Marshau Ctata	N / 1 m	Konsot America	Deceles Divoine	Mala	Cuatamala	Latin American and Caribbana Craus
Member State	Mr	Kenset Amaury	Rosales Riveiro	Male	Guatemala	Latin American and Caribbean Group
Member State	Mr	Silvio	Albuquerque e Silva	Male	Brazil	Latin American and Caribbean Group
Member State	Mrs	lveth	Torres Bonilla	Female	Panama	Latin American and Caribbean Group
Member State	Mr	Rafael	Monge	Male	Costa Rica	Latin American and Caribbean Group
					Antigua and	
Stakeholder group	Ms.	Ruth	Viola Spencer	Female	Barbuda	Latin American and Caribbean Group



### Proposed membership (cont.)

Member State	Mr	Arthur	Eijs	Male	Netherlands	Western European Group
Member State	Dr	Salla	Rantala	Female	Finland	Western European Group
Member State	(Alternate) Dr	Lisa	Eriksson	Female	Sweden	Western European Group
Member State	Ms	Claudia	Kabel	Female	Germany	Western European Group
Member State	Ms	Christina	Komorski	Female	Canada	Western European Group
Member State	Dr	Toral	Patel-Weynand	Female	United States	Western European Group
Member State	(Alternate) Dr	Keri	Holland	Female	United States	Western European Group
Stakeholder group	Mr	Jan-Gustav	Strandenaes	Male	Norway	Western European Group
Stakeholder group	Dr	Fabian	Wagner	Male	Germany	Western European Group





Pierre Boileau Head, Global Environment Outlook, UNEP pierre.boileau@un.org

United Nations Avenue, Gigiri PO Box 30552 – 00100 GPO Nairobi, Kenya www.unep.org