

Orientation Session for New Members of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

Monday, 26 September 2022, 10:00 – 13:00 (Nairobi Time).

Meeting Format: HYBRID | Venue: Conference Room #4

Moderator – Henry Ndede – Governance Affairs Office, UNEP

TIME	PROGRAMME	CONTRIBUTOR/FACILITATOR
10:00	Welcome Remarks	Sonja Leighton-Kone, Acting Deputy Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
10:10	UNEP's Governing Bodies Structure and Functions of UNEA, the CPR and their Bureaus	Radhika Ochalik, Secretary Governing Bodies, and Director, Governance Affairs Office. Ulf Bjornholm, Head Governing Bodies Unit, Governance Affairs
10:30	Civil Society Engagement Major Groups and Stakeholders Presentations and Q&A	Office. Laetitia Zobel , Programme Officer, Civil Society Unit, Governance Affairs Office.
10:40	UNEA Rules of Procedure	1. Alvin Gachie, Special Assistant Administration, Law Division
	Presentations and Q&A	2. Catalina Pizarro, Associate Legal Officer, Law Division.
11:00	UNON Conference Services &	Shivona Tavares, Director, Division of Conference Services
	Management ➤ Presentations and Q&A	Francisco Vasquez, Chief, Planning and Coordination Section, Division of Conference Services
11:30	BREAK	
11:45	UNEP's mandate and its organizational structure	Sonja Leighton-Kone , Acting Deputy Executive Director, will make a general presentation on UNEP's mandate and its organizational structure.
12:15	UNEP Mid-Term Strategy.	Tim Kasten, Director, Policy and Programme Division
	 Programme of Work and Budget. UNEA Resolutions Reporting. Presentations and Q&A 	Rosemary Mukasa, Senior Programme Officer, Policy & Programme Division
12:25	UNEP's Divisions: ✓ Policy and Programme ✓ Corporate Services ✓ Communications ✓ Ecosystems ✓ Economy. ✓ Science ✓ Law	 UNEP's Divisional Directors and the Chief Scientist will briefly introduce the main responsibilities under each Division/Office. Tim Kasten, Director, Policy and Programme Division Kathleen Creavalle, Acting Deputy Director, Head Financial Management Services Section, Corporate Services Division Daniel Cooney, Director, Communications Division Susan Gardner, Director, Ecosystems Division Sheila Aggarwal-Khan, Director, Economy Division
	Office of the Chief Scientist Presentations and Q&A	 Kelly West, Deputy Director, Science Division Patricia Kameri-Mbote, Director, Law Division Andrea Hinwood, UNEP Chief Scientist
12:55	Closing Remarks	H.E. Mr. Pirkka Tapiola, Chair, Committee of Permanent Representatives and Ambassador of Finland to Kenya and Permanent Representative to UNEP.