Zero draft of the ministerial declaration of the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6)

On behalf of the members of the Board of the 10 Year Framework of Programmes on Sustainable Consumption and Production (10YFP) (Brazil, Croatia, Mauritius, Senegal, Kuwait, Pakistan, Sweden, USA, Costa Rica) we have the pleasure to make reference to the letter from H. E. Ms. Leila Benali, President of the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6) and Minister of Energy Transition and Sustainable Development of Morocco, circulating the zero draft of the ministerial declaration of the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6) dated May 2023.

The theme of UNEA-6 "Effective, inclusive, and sustainable multilateral actions to tackle climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution" is highly relevant to the goals and objectives of the 10YFP and the Global Strategy on Sustainable Consumption and Production.

To this end we recommend the inclusion of a reference to the <u>Global Strategy for Sustainable</u> <u>Consumption and Production 2023-2030</u> developed through a broad consultative and multi-stakeholder process under the 10-Year Framework of Programmes on SCP (10YFP) and welcomed and endorsed by the UN General Assembly in December 2022 in its resolution 77/162 attached for reference.

Such a reference will allow UNEA, in its role as the global authority on the environment, to call for leadership through concrete SCP and circular economy commitments for actions to tackle climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution.

The proposed new addition is as follows:

 We support the implementation of the Global Strategy for Sustainable Consumption and Production (2023–2030) developed in the framework of the 10YFP/One Planet Network as an effective, inclusive and sustainable multilateral action [text using agreed language from UNGA resolution [77/162 attached for reference] Grano Valude 5.

Ambassador Giovanna Valverde

Chair of the 10YFP Board, Ambassador of Costa

Rica in Kenya and Permanent Representative to

UN agencies, UNEP and UN Habitat

Mr Jorge Laguna-Celis

Head, 10-Year Framework of Programmes for

sustainable consumption and production (10YFP),

UNEP

CC: Members of the Board of the 10YFP

Mr Jogeeswar Seewoobaduth, Director of Environment, Ministry of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change

Mr. Cheikh Fofana, Deputy Director, Directorate of Environment and Classified Establishments, Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development

Ms Samira Al Kandari, Deputy Director General for Environmental Control Affairs, Environment Public Authority of Kuwait

Mr Muhammad Irfan Tariq, Former Director General, Environment and Climate Change, Ministry of Climate Change

Ms. Eva Ahlner, Senior Advisor, Swedish Environmental Protection Agency

Ms. Elizabeth Nichols, PhD, Foreign Affairs Officer, Office of Environmental Quality and Transboundary Issues, Bureau of Oceans and International Environment and Science Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Ms Branka Pivčević Novak, Head of Service for General Climate Protection Policy, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development

Ambassador Giovanna Valverde, Ambassador of Costa Rica in Kenya and Permanent Representative to UN agencies, UNEP and UN Hábitat

Mr Vicente de Araujo Filho, General Coordinator for Sustainable Development, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Brazil

CC: Permanent Representative of countries to UNEP

H.E. Mr. Silvio Jose Albuquerque e Silva, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Brazil to UNEP

H.E. Mrs. Giovanna Valverde Stark, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Costa Rica to UNEP

Mr. Bill Lehmberg, Permanent Representative of the United States of America to UNEP

H.E. Ms Caroline Vicini, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Sweden to UNEP

H.E. Mr. Mahendr Dosieah, High Commissioner and Permanent Representative of Mauritius to UNEP

H.E. Mr. Ndongo Dieng, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Senegal to UNEP

H.E. Ms. Saqlain Syedah, High Commissioner Permanent Representative of Pakistan to UNEP