

Orientation session for members of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

Thursday, 7 September 2023, 10:00 – 13:00 (Nairobi Time).

Meeting Format: HYBRID | Venue: Conference Room #4

Moderator – Henry Ndede – Governance Affairs Office, United Nations Environment Programme

TIME	PROGRAMME	CONTRIBUTOR/FACILITATOR
10:00	Welcome remarks	Ms. Elizabeth Maruma Mrema, Deputy Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).
10:05	UNEP's Governing Bodies Structure and Functions of UNEA, the CPR and their Bureaux	Ms. Radhika Ochalik, Secretary Governing Bodies, and Director, Governance Affairs Office.
		Mr. Ulf Bjornholm, Head Governing Bodies Unit, Governance Affairs Office.
10:30	Civil Society Engagement Major Groups and Stakeholders Presentations and Q&A	Ms. Laetitia Zobel , Programme Officer, Civil Society Unit, Governance Affairs Office.
10:50	UNEA Rules of Procedure	Mr. Stadler Trengove, Principal Legal Officer, Law Division
	Presentations and Q&A	
11:05	UNON Conference Services and Management	Ms Nadya Omar, Conference Affairs Officer, Planning and Coordination Section, Division of Conference Services, UNON
	Presentations and Q&A	Mr. Jack Howard, Principal Programme Management Officer, UNON
11:25	BREAK	
11:35	UNEP's mandate and its organizational structure	Ms. Sonja Leighton-Kone, Director, Corporate Services Division, will make a general presentation on UNEP's mandate and its organizational structure.
11:50	 UNEP Medium-Term Strategy Programme of Work and Budget UNEA Resolutions Reporting Presentations and Q&A 	Mr. Ebrahim Gora, Deputy Director, Policy and Programme Division Ms. Rosemary Mukasa, Senior Programme Officer, Policy and Programme Division
12:10	Office of the Chief Scientist Chief Digital Officer ➤ Presentations and Q&A	 UNEP's Divisional Directors and the Chief Scientist will briefly introduce the main responsibilities under each Division/Office. Mr. Tim Kasten, Director, Policy and Programme Division Ms. Kathleen Creavalle, Deputy Director, Head Financial Management Services Section, Corporate Services Division Mr. Daniel Cooney, Director, Communications Division Mr. Bruno Pozzi, Deputy Director, Ecosystems Division M. Steven Stone, Deputy Director, Industry and Economy Division Ms. Kelly West, Deputy Director, Early Warning and Assessment Division Ms. Patricia Kameri-Mbote, Director, Law Division Ms. Andrea Hinwood, Chief Scientist Ms. Golestan Sally Radwan, Chief Digital Officer
12:55	Closing remarks	H.E. Mr. Firas Khouri, Chair, Committee of Permanent Representatives and Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to UNEP