Committee of Permanent Representatives Bureau Meeting Friday, 24 November 2023 15:00 – 16:00 (GMT +3) Conference Room 9 Hybrid meeting

Chair's Summary

Agenda item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda.

- 1. His Excellency Firas Khouri, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to Kenya and Permanent Representative to UNEP, opened and chaired the meeting.
- 2. Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director of UNEP, provided opening remarks.
- 3. The <u>agenda</u> was adopted, with the agreement that the Bureau would jointly consider agenda items 2 and 3.

Agenda item 2: Stock-taking of progress made at the 10th annual subcommittee meeting of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

Agenda item 3: Consideration of the draft Chair's summary.

- 4. The Secretariat presented a <u>revised draft chair's summary</u> that reflected changes made after comments from Member States and stakeholders at the morning session for consideration by the Bureau.
- 5. Following consideration of the state of play of the annual subcommittee meeting and the revised version of the draft chair's summary, the Bureau requested the Secretariat to circulate the revised draft summary without further comments, for final consideration and endorsement by committee under agenda item 7.

Agenda item 4: Other matters.

6. There were no other matters raised.

Agenda item 6: Closing of the meeting.

7. The meeting closed at 15:50 (GMT+3).

Annex: List of Participants

The Committee of Permanent Representatives Bureau Members:

H. E. Mr. Firas Khouri, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to Kenya and Permanent Representative to UNEP.

H. E. Mr. Wael Nasreldin Attiya, Vice Chair of the Committee, Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt, and Permanent Representative to UNEP,

H. E. Ms. Nicol Adamcová, Vice-Chair of the Committee, Ambassador of Czechia to Kenya and Permanent Representative to UNEP.

Mr. Øystein Størkersen, Deputy Permanent Representative representing H. E. Mr. Gunnar Andreas Holm, Vice Chair of the Committee, Ambassador of Norway to Kenya and Permanent Representative to UNEP.

Mr. Jovan Bernard Reid, Deputy Head of Mission of the Permanent Mission of Barbados.

Representatives of the President of the UN Environment Assembly participating in an exofficio capacity:

Ms. Siham Mourabit, Deputy Permanent Representative of Morocco to UNEP.

The UN Environment Program Secretariat was represented by:

Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director.

Mr. Nicholas Bertrand, Chief of Staff.

Ms. Radhika Ochalik, Secretary of Governing Bodies.

Mr. Ulf Bjornholm, Deputy Secretary of Governing Bodies.

Mr. Stadler Trengove, Principal Legal Adviser