#### First Report on Credentials to the Bureau

# Credentials of representatives to the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6)

## Nairobi, 23 February 2024

#### Designated Bureau Member: Vice President, (name), (title).

1. Rules 16 and 17 of the rules of procedure of the United Nations Environment Assembly provide as follows:

## Rule 16

"Each member of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall be represented by an accredited representative, who may be accompanied by such alternate representatives and advisers as may be required."

#### Rule 17

- (1). The credentials of representatives and the names of alternate representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the Executive Director before the first meeting which the representatives are to attend.
- (2). The Bureau of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall examine the credentials and submit its report to the United Nations Environment Assembly. This rule shall not, however, prevent a member from changing its representative, alternate representatives, or advisers subsequently, subject to proper submission and examination of credentials, where needed."
- 2. The note by the Secretariat of 15 January 2024 (UNEP/EA.6/INF/1) on the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly of the United Nations Environment Programme provides, inter alia, as follows:
  - "55. In accordance with rule 16 of the rules of procedure of the Environment Assembly, each member of the Assembly shall be represented by an accredited representative, who may be accompanied by such alternate representatives and advisers as may be required. In accordance with rule 17, the credentials of representatives and the names of alternate representatives and advisers should be submitted to the Executive Director before the first meeting that representatives are to attend.
  - 56. Member States should send an advance scanned copy of their credentials, signed by either the Head of State or Government or the minister for foreign affairs, as well as other formal communications containing the names of representatives to the Environment Assembly (such as letters and notes verbales from permanent missions or formal communications from government ministries) to unep.credentials@un.org.
  - 57. The original hard copy of the credentials and other communications should be submitted to the Law Division of UNEP for the attention of the UNEP Principal Legal Adviser. During the session of the Assembly, delegations may, alternatively, deposit original hard copies of credentials at the badging centre.

- 58. In accordance with paragraph 2 of rule 17 of the rules of procedure, the Assembly will be invited at its plenary meeting on 29 February, in the afternoon, to consider and approve the report of the Bureau on the credentials of representatives in attendance."
- 3. As of 23 February 2024, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, have been submitted to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme by the following 15 Member States, in respect of their representatives to the Assembly: Australia, El Salvador, Fiji, Finland, Israel, Japan, Madagascar, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Tonga, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 4. As of 23 February 2024, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the United Nations Environment Assembly has been communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, by means of a scanned copy in electronic form of formal credentials signed by the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a scanned copy of a letter or note verbale including from the Permanent Mission concerned or by means of another form of communication, by the following 148 Member States: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Georgia, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Libya, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Oatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
- 5. Of the Member States not already mentioned in paragraph 3 above, the following 29 Member States had not, as of the time of the meeting of the Bureau, communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme any information regarding their representatives to the Assembly: Afghanistan, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Central African Republic, Chad, Croatia, France, Guyana, Iceland, Ireland, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Mongolia, Namibia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan.

- 6. The Committee had before it one copy of credentials, dated 14 February 2024, concerning the representation of Myanmar at the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6) indicating that Than Swe, Deputy Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Affairs has appointed San Oo, Deputy Director General of the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation, to represent the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.
- **7.** The Bureau decided to take no action with respect to the communications concerning the representation of Myanmar to the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6).