Report on Credentials to the Bureau

Credentials of representatives to the sixth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-6)

Nairobi, 28 February 2024

Designated Bureau Member: H.E. Ms. Susana Muhamad Gonzales, Vice-President of UNEA and Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development of Colombia

1. Rules 16 and 17 of the rules of procedure of the United Nations Environment Assembly provide as follows:

<u>Rule 16</u>

"Each member of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall be represented by an accredited representative, who may be accompanied by such alternate representatives and advisers as may be required."

<u>Rule 17</u>

(1). The credentials of representatives and the names of alternate representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the Executive Director before the first meeting which the representatives are to attend.

(2). The Bureau of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall examine the credentials and submit its report to the United Nations Environment Assembly. This rule shall not, however, prevent a member from changing its representative, alternate representatives, or advisers subsequently, subject to proper submission and examination of credentials, where needed."

- 2. As of 28 February 2024, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, have been submitted to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme by the following 49 Member States, in respect of their representatives to the Assembly: Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, El Salvador, Fiji, Finland, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Zambia.
- 3. As of 28 February 2024, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the United Nations Environment Assembly has been communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, by means of a scanned copy in electronic form of formal credentials signed by the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a scanned copy of a letter or note verbale including from the Permanent Mission concerned or by means of another form of communication, by the following **122** Member States: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Barbados,

Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Czechia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Palau, Panama, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Togo, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen, Zimbabwe.

4. Of the Member States not already mentioned in paragraphs 3 and 4 above, the following 21 Member States had not, as of the time of the meeting of the Bureau, communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme any information regarding their representatives to the Assembly: Afghanistan, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Central African Republic, Chad, Croatia, Guyana, Iceland, Ireland, Kiribati, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan.