Eastern African Atlas of coastal resources

United Nations Environment Programme (2001)

The eastern African region is comprised of Somalia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and Reunion (France) whose coasts are washed by the waters of the western part of the Indian Ocean. The coastal and marine environment of the region contains diverse and valuable ecosystems such as coral reefs, seagrass beds, mangroves and beaches. Its coastal environment is characterised by ecosystems of high marine biodiversity and rich and diverse resources. Coral reefs and their associated ecosystems are the most biologically diverse of all the ecosystems. These ecosystems are the backbone of the livelihood of coastal communities and contribute significantly to the economy of the countries.

Reports and Books