Decision IG.19/2

"New Compliance Committee Members and Alternate Members"

The 16th Meeting of the Contracting Parties,

Recalling paragraphs 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 of the Procedures and mechanisms on compliance under the Barcelona Convention and its Protocols adopted by the 15th Meeting of the Contracting Parties, Almeria, Spain, 2008,

Elects, in accordance with decision IG 17/2 on compliance procedures and mechanisms under the Barcelona Convention and its Protocols, the following members and alternate members to serve on the Compliance Committee:

From the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Syria and Tunisia

- Mr Larbi Sbai (Morocco) as Member for a term of four years
- Mr Hedi Amamou (Tunisia) as Alternate member for a term of four years

From the EU Member States which are Party to the Barcelona Convention: Cyprus, Greece, France, Italy, Malta, Slovenia, Spain and the EC

- Mr Nikos Georgiades (Cyprus) as Member for a term of four years
- Mr Louis Vella (Malta) as Alternate member for a term of four years

From the other Contracting Parties: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Israel, Monaco, Montenegro and Turkey

- Ms Selma Čengíc (Bosnia and Herzegovina) as Member for a term of four years
- Mr Novak Cadjonovic (Montenegro) as Alternate member for a term of four years