Joint meeting of the Bureaux of UN Environment Assembly and Committee of Permanent Representatives 11 January 2022, 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Virtual meeting

# Draft Summary of the Joint Meeting of the Bureaux of the UN Environment Assembly and of the Committee of Permanent Representatives

All meeting documents can be accessed on the meeting portal

## Agenda Item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda.

- 1. The President of the Assembly, H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, welcomed participants and opened the meeting, followed by opening remarks from H.E. Ms. Luisa Fragoso, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives, and Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director UN Environment Programme. A list of meeting participants can be found in Annex 1.
- 2. The agenda of the meeting was adopted (available <u>here</u>).

# Agenda Item 2: Consideration of the timing and format of UNEA-5 in view of COVID-19

- 3. The President of the Assembly invited the Secretariat to provide an information update on the situation in Kenya, and to present the secretariat's recommendation.
- 4. The representative from Joint Medical Services of UN Office in Nairobi provided a <u>powerpoint</u> <u>presentation</u> summarizing the COVID-19 situation concerning the UN in Nairobi.
- 5. A representative from the host country Kenya provided complementary information on relevant regulations in Kenya, including travel policies, quarantine facilities and medical services.
- 6. The Executive Director of UNEP presented a <u>background document</u> listing 3 options for scheduling the resumed session of UNEA-5 and special session on UNEP@50, taking into account the latest developments with regard to COVID-19 pandemic, as follows:
  - Option 1: Continue to plan and organize UNEA 5.2 and UNEP@50 and its preparatory meetings in a hybrid format for the planned dates with the aim of universal in-person participation, while respecting the COVID-19 minimum requirement;
  - Option 2: Some or all of the meetings are postponed to later in 2022;
  - Option 3: All or some meetings will be organized online to minimize the risk of infections, with no or limited in-person participation.

The Executive Director then outlined the arguments for secretariat recommendation in favor of option 2, to reschedule the meetings to the end of April 2022.

7. All Members of the Bureuax underlined the importance of ensuring a successful organization of UNEA 5.2 and UNEP@50 with universal in-person participation and substantive outcomes, in a safe meeting environment. Members also agreed that option 3, to conduct the meetings fully online, was

the least favorable. With regard to option 1 and 2, Members expressed a range of different views and perspectives, while indicating significant flexibility with regard to the final preference.

8. Following an in-depth debate, Members of the joint Bureaux unanimously agreed to support the secretariat's recommendation to reschedule the events to the end of April, requested the secretariat to initiate the decision-making process in accordance with Rule 3 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, and to brief all Member States on the proposal at the subcommittee meeting off the Committee of Permanent Representatives scheduled for 13 January 2022.

### Agenda Item 3: Any Other Matters.

9. The Chair of the CPR announced the complete list of nominated co-facilitators for the UNEA-5 resolutions, based on the nominations from all regional groups, as follows.

# • Cluster 1: Marine / plastic pollution

H.E. Mr. Damptey Bediako Asare, Permanent Representative of Ghana Mr Robert Bunbury, Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada

## • Cluster 2: Nature-Based Solutions and biodiversity

H.E. Mr. Dragan Ziupanjevac, Permanent Representative of Serbia Mr. Sergio Salazar Alzate, Deputy Permanent Representative of Colombia

#### • Cluster 3: Chemicals and Minerals

Ms. Gudi Alkemade, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Netherlands Mr. Mapopa Kaunda, Deputy Permanent Representative of Malawi

## • Cluster 4: Green recovery and circular economy

H.E. Mr. Firas Khouri, Permanent Representative of Jordan Ms. Ana Elena Campos Jiménez, Deputy Permanent Representative of Costa Rica

### • Cluster 5: Organizational and administrative matters

H.E. Ms. Saqlain Syedah, Permanent Representative of Pakistan H.E. Mr. Marek Rohr-Garztecki, Permanent Representative of Poland.

The list of nominated co-facilitators was endorsed by the Bureau Members.

## Agenda Item 4: Closing of the Meeting.

10. The President of UNEA, Chair of the CPR and Executive Director of UNEP thanked all Members for their contributions. The meeting closed at 7:00 pm.

### ANNEX - DRAFT LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

NB This list will be cross-checked once the secretariat receives information about final participation

#### **UNEA Bureau**

- H.E. Mr. Espen Barth Eide, UNEA President, Minister of Environment and Climate Norway;
- H.E. Ms. Bérangère ABBA, UNEA Vice President, Secretary of State for the Biodiversity France;
- H.E Ambassador Dragan Zupanjevac, Ambassador and Permanent Representative representing H.E. Mrs. Irena Vujovic, Vice President and Minister of Environment Serbia;
- H.E. Ms. Giovanna V. Stark, Ambassador and Permanent Representative representing H.E. Ms. Andrea Meza Murillo, Vice President and Minister of Environment and Energy Costa Rica;
- H.E. Dr. Mohamed bin Mubarak Bin Daina, UNEA Vice President, Special Envoy for Climate Affairs and Chief Executive of the Supreme Council for Environment Bahrain;
- H.E. Mr. Reggy Nelson, UNEA Vice President, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Suriname;
- H.E. Ms. Laksmi Dhewanthi, UNEA Vice President and Senior Advisor to the Minister of Environment and Forestry of Indonesia;
- H.E. Mr. Erki Savisaar, Vice President, Minister Representative of Environment Estonia;
- H.E. Mr. Simeon Sawadogo, UNEA Vice President, Minister of Environment, Green Economy and Climate Change of Burkina Faso;
- Hon. Barbara Creecy, UNEA Rapporteur, Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries of the Republic of South Africa

#### **CPR Bureau**

- H.E. Ms. Luísa Fragoso, Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative Portugal;
- H.E. Mr. Ado Lohmus, Vice Chair, Permanent Representative Estonia;
- H.E. Mr. Lino Leopold Santacruz, Deputy Permanent Representative of Mexico representing H.E. Mr. Erasmo Martínez, Vice Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative Mexico;
- H.E. Ambassador Selma Haddadi, Vice Chair, Ambassador and Permanent Representative Algeria;
- H.E. Saqlain Syedah, Rapporteur, High Commissioner and Permanent Representative Pakistan