Report on Credentials to the Bureau

Credentials of representatives to the United Nations Environment Assembly, Special Session,

Nairobi, 3 March 2022

Designated Bureau Member: Vice President, (name), (title).

1. Rules 16 and 17 of the rules of procedure of the United Nations Environment Assembly provide as follows:

<u>Rule 16</u>

"Each member of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall be represented by an accredited representative, who may be accompanied by such alternate representatives and advisers as may be required."

<u>Rule 17</u>

(1). The credentials of representatives and the names of alternate representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the Executive Director before the first meeting which the representatives are to attend.

(2). The Bureau of the United Nations Environment Assembly shall examine the credentials and submit its report to the United Nations Environment Assembly. This rule shall not, however, prevent a member from changing its representative, alternate representatives, or advisers subsequently, subject to proper submission and examination of credentials, where needed."

2. The Notification by the Executive Director of 10 December 2021 on the special session of the United Nations Environment Assembly of the United Nations Environment Programme provides, inter alia as follows:

" 21. Representatives of Member States are invited to send an advance scanned copy of their credentials, signed either by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs, as well as other formal communications containing the names of representatives to UNEA-5.2 and UNEP@50 (such as a letter or a note verbale from the Permanent Mission) for the attention of Mr. Stadler Trengove, Principal Legal Advisor, to the secretariat email address unep-sgb@un.org. The original hard copy of the credentials and other communications should be sent to: Mr. Stadler Trengove, Principal Legal Advisor, United Nations Environment Programme, P.O. Box 30552, 00100 Nairobi, Kenya."

3. As of 3 March 2022, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, have been submitted to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme by the following **40** Member States, in respect of their representatives to the Assembly: Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Belgium, Brazil, Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Cote D'ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Estonia, France, Germany, Guyana, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Rep. Of), Israel, Japan, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Mauritania,

Monaco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Saint Lucia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Rep., Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, and Zimbabwe.

3. As of 3 March 2022, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the United Nations Environment Assembly has been communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, by means of a scanned copy in electronic form of formal credentials signed by the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a scanned copy of a letter or note verbale including from the Permanent Mission concerned or by means of another form of communication, by the following **114** Member States: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic Of Korea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eguatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Fed. States Of), Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia,.

4. Of the Member States not already mentioned in paragraph 3 above, the following **39** Member States had not, as of the time of the meeting of the Bureau, communicated to the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme any information regarding their representatives to the Assembly: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Bahamas, Benin, Bhutan, Cape Verde, Chad, Croatia, Dominica, Gambia, Honduras, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic., Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Republic of Moldova, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tonga, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

5. The Committee had before it two communications concerning the representation of Myanmar at the special session of the United Nations Environment Assembly indicating different individuals as representatives to the meeting. The first communication was dated 25 January 2022 from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and signed by Wunna Maung Lwin, Union Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar. The second was dated 21 February 2022 from the Permanent Mission of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar to the United Nations in New York, signed by Kyaw Moe Tun, Ambassador/Permanent Representative.

6. The Bureau decided to defer its consideration of those communications pending further guidance from the Credentials Committee of the United Nations General Assembly. The Joint Bureau thus did not accredit any delegate from Myanmar to the resumed fifth session of the United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-5.2)