Committee of Permanent Representatives Bureau Meeting Friday, 18 March 2022 09:15 am - 10.00 a.m. (GMT+3) Executive Office Boardroom

### **DRAFT MEETING SUMMARY**

#### Agenda Item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda.

1. H.E. Mrs. Luisa Fragoso, Chair of the Committee of Permanent Representatives and Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Portugal chaired the meeting, in which the following members of the bureau participated:

## The Committee of Permanent Representatives Bureau members

H.E. Mrs. Selma Malika Haddadi, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Algeria, Vice Chair, African States Group

H.E. Mr. Erasmo Roberto Martínez, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Mexico, Vice Chair, Eastern European States Group

# A representative of the President of the UN Environment Assembly participated in an ex officio capacity:

Ms. Siham Mourabit, Deputy Permanent Representative of Morocco

#### The UN Environment Programme Secretariat was represented by:

Ms. Sonja Leighton-Kone, Acting Deputy Executive Director

Mr. Rafael Peralta, Chief of Staff

Ms. Radhika Ochalik, Secretary of Governing Bodies

2. The meeting agenda was adopted.

#### Agenda item 2: Organization of work

- 3. The Chair informed the Bureau that she will take on new responsibilities in Ethiopia towards the end of March and that she plans to send a Note Verbale to the Secretariat informing of her resignation from the post of the Chair of the CPR, after which the Western European and other States Group will send a Note Verbale informing of the endorsement of the new candidate for the remainder of her term ending on 30 June 2023.
- 4. The Chair then mentioned that Ambassador Selma Haddadi of Algeria will preside over the meeting of the Subcommittee scheduled for 24 March and proposed that Ambassador Erasmo Martinez of Mexico could preside over the meeting of the Subcommittee planned for 7 April as well as any other meetings, including Bureau meetings, until the election of the new Chair.

5. Following a discussion, the Bureau agreed that, in accordance with rule 22 of the rules of procedure of the United Nations Environment Assembly, which applies to the CPR *mutatis mutandis*, Ambassador Erasmo Martinez of Mexico will serve as the Acting Chair of the CPR, following the resignation of Ambassador Luisa Fragoso and until the election of the new Chair.

## **Agenda item 2: Other matters**

6. The Bureau recalled the arrangement for the current Rapporteur's mandate to end in February, to be replaced by Saudi Arabia, as agreed by the Asia-Pacific States Group. The Secretariat clarified that the CPR Bureau members have been elected for a term of two years; that Ambassador Saqlain Syedah would have to resign from her post as the Rapporteur; and that the Asia-Pacific States Group would have to nominate an individual from the Mission of Saudi Arabia for election as the Rapporteur for the remainder of the term. The Bureau agreed that the Secretariat would follow up with Ambassador Saqlain Syedah and the Asia-Pacific States Group.

## Agenda item 3: Closing of the meeting

7. The meeting closed at 10:00 am.