

To: INC Bureau Members: Ms Juliet Kabera Mr Ndiaye Cheikh Sylla Mr Hiroshi Ono Mr Mohammed Albarrak Mr Harry Liiv Ms Irma Gurguliani H.E. Gustavo Meza-Cuadra Velasquez Ms Asha Challenger Ms Johanna Lissinger-Peitz Ms Larke Williams

Cc:

Ambassador Vayas Valdivieso, INC Chair Ms Jyoti Mathur-Filipp, Executive Secretary of the INC Secretariat Ms Inger Andersen, Executive Director of UNEP Ms Daniela García Mr Andrés Gómez Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Aotearoa New Zealand) Ministry for the Environment (Aotearoa New Zealand)

Aotearoa Plastic Pollution Alliance (APPA) calls for greater protections and assurances for observer participation at INC 5.2 and supports the Coalition of the Willing

Dear Bureau members,

We are the Aotearoa Plastic Pollution Alliance (APPA), a coalition of scientists, researchers, educators, artists, activists, and community leaders working to end plastic pollution. We are a charitable organisation based in Aotearoa New Zealand. Our advocacy focuses on upstream solutions like the reduction of plastic production. We work hard to inform decision-makers and the public alike on the best ways to reduce plastic pollution throughout the lifecycle of plastics. Our approach is evidence-based and grounded in Indigenous science. We work closely with the Zero Waste Network Aotearoa and Tāngata Whenua Coalition for an Effective Plastics Treaty.

Due to concerns about transparency, we are writing to request that full observer participation at the upcoming INC-5.2 is upheld. We observed the alarming manner in which INC-4 and INC-5 were conducted, where independent scientists, Indigenous

groups and civil society groups were actively excluded from much of the proceedings. There were very few, if any, opportunities for observers to make interventions during plenary sessions. Many rights holders, stakeholders and observers were not privy to closed door meetings where negotiations and deliberations took place. This led to the observer groups not being sufficiently informed or able to support delegates and participate in negotiations.

This is a grave concern. Independent scientists – such as the Scientists' Coalition for an Effective Plastics Treaty – play a vital role in identifying knowledge gaps and evidencebased solutions, while addressing misinformation. Their expertise is crucial in negotiating a meaningful treaty that names the problems correctly and comes up with appropriate solutions. Indigenous experts and rights holders – such as the International Indigenous Peoples' Forum in Plastics (IIPFP) and other knowledge holders – similarly provide important perspectives to ensure ambitious action to end plastic pollution and achieve justice for all. To exclude these observers from meaningful participation in the treaty process will almost certainly result in a poorly drafted and inadequate Global Plastics Treaty that will have very limited positive impact.

Thankfully at INC-5, more than 100 countries (now known as the "Coalition of the Willing") took the extraordinary step of holding a press conference to propose their own redline version of the Chair's text. This redline version proposes a binding treaty that would address the full life cycle of plastics including production reduction targets. As this aligns totally with our views and philosophy, APPA fully endorses the Coalition of the Willing's redline version of the treaty.

Being denied access to the negotiations comes at a personal cost, too. Like APPA, these observer groups are not backed by corporations. They often expend personal time and financial costs to attend the INC sessions. The fact that no treaty was concluded at INC-5 left the observer groups to scramble again to afford to attend the additional INC session. This is why it is especially important that they are given the opportunity to meaningfully engage in the process.

It is our fervent hope that INC-5.2 will yield tangible results that protect people and planet. This is why we are requesting that the Bureau members take our plea seriously and afford observer groups fair, full and meaningful participation at the upcoming INC-5.2 session.

Sincerely, Executive Committee of the Aotearoa Plastic Pollution Alliance: Liam Prince Dr Helena Ruffell Dr Ursula Rojas-Nazar Lorella Doherty Matt Peryman Lydia Chai